Buhari to Swear in Lauretta Onochie as NDDC Board Chairman Amid Outcry

Buhari to Swear in Lauretta Onochie as NDDC Board Chairman Amid Outcry | Daily Report Nigeria

President Muhammadu Buhari is set to swear-in his media aide, Lauretta Onochie as Chairman of the Niger Delta Development Commission.

This is even as the President will today, Wednesday January 4, 2023, inaugurate a new substantive board for the commission.

Onochie’s nomination had attracted heavy backlash from stakeholders, who have continued to label the over as illegal owing to the fact that the All Progressives Congress’ chieftain is from a non-oil producing area.

ATTENTION: Click HERE to join our WhatsApp group and receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

She hails from Onicha-Olona community in Aniocha North Local Government Area of Delta State.

However, Onochie was screened and confirmed by the Senate as eligible for the position as she hails from an oil producing state.

A valedictory meeting was held between the acting Managing Director of the NDDC, Emmanuel Audu-Ohwavborua and management staff to prepare for the hand over.

Meanwhile, a letter signed by a Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Niger Delta Affairs, Adebiyi Olufunso, had said the inauguration will hold today.

Olufunso, in the letter, dated December 29, said:

“Following recent confirmation and clearance of the newly constituted board of NDDC by the Senate, the President has further granted approval for the inauguration of the board to commence work immediately.”

Expected to be sworn in as part of the NDDC board are; Buhari’s Special Assistant on New Media, Lauretta Onochie from Delta as substantive chairman; Major-General Charles Airhiavbere (rtd) from Edo State (Executive Director, Finance); and Charles Ogunmola from Ondo State, as Executive Director, Projects.

Others include representatives Dimgba Erugba, Abia State; Dr. Emem Willcox Wills (Akwa Ibom State), Elder Denyanbofa Dimaro (Bayelsa State), Orok Duke (Cross River State) and Dr. Pius Odudu (Edo State).

Also on the board are Anthony Ekenne (Imo State), Gbenga Edema (Ondo State), Elekwachi Dimkpa (Rivers State), Alhaji Mohammed Kabir Abubakar (Nasarawa State) representing North-Cenral zone), Alhaji Sadiq Sami Sule-Ikoh (Kebbi State, North-West) and Prof. Tahir Mamman, SAN, (Adamawa State, North-East).

However, Chief Samuel Ogbokwu from Bayelsa State will be sworn in as substantive Managing Director of the NDDC board.

He is expected to stay in office for two years to complete the term of his predecessor in office.


Apply For Fully Funded Scholarships in Europe

Apply For Fully Funded Scholarships in Canada