Edo 2020: PDP Floors APC as INEC Declares Obaseki Winner

The People’s Democratic Party, PDP, has reclaimed it’s position as ruling party of Edo state.

This is even as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Governor Godwin Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state.

Read Also: Akeredolu And Plight of Ijaws in Ondo

Obaseki defeated his Arch rival and candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, after winning in 13 LGAs of the state.

ATTENTION: Click HERE to join our WhatsApp group and receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

Prof. Akpofure Rim-Rukeh, the INEC’s Returning Officer for election made the announcement, saying the APC polled 223,619 votes, while PDP got 307,955 votes.

Prof Akpofure’s announcement means that Governor Obaseki will oversee the affairs of the state for another four years.

Recall that Obaseki was elected governor under the platform of the APC in 2016 but he recently defected to the PDP after he was denied the party’s ticket due to intra-party issues.

See how Edos voted

1 Igueben LG
APC 5199, PDP 7870

Oredo LG
APC 18,365, PDP 43,498

Esan North East LG
APC 6,556, PDP 13,579

Esan West LG
APC 7,189, PDP 17,434

Etsako West LG
APC 26,140, PDP 17,959

Esan Central LG
APC 6,719, PDP 10,694

Ikpoba Okha LG
APC 18,218, PDP 41,030

Egor LG
APC 10,202, PDP 27,621

Uhunmwonde LG
APC 5,972, PDP 10,022

Owan East LG
APC 19,295, PDP 14,762

Owan West LG
APC 11,193, PDP 11,485

Ovia North East LG
APC 9,907, PDP 16,987

Esan South East LG
APC 9,237, PDP 10,563

14 Akoko Edo LG
APC 22,963, PDP 20,101

Etsako East LG
APC 17,011, PDP 10,668

Etsako Central LG
APC 8,358, PDP 7,478

Orhionmwon LG
APC 10,458, PDP 13,445

Ovia South West LG
APC 10,636, PDP 12,659

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Written by Tare Magbei

Tare Magbei is a media practitioner with Daily Report Nigeria.

Akeredolu And Plight of Ijaws in Ondo

Edo 2020: Buhari Congratulates Obaseki on Victory