35-year-old Dethrones Yobe Speaker’s 6th Term Bid

The Speaker of Yobe State House of Assembly, Hon Ahmed Mirwa Lawan, has lost his seat to Lawan Musa a 35-year-old candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for Nguru II Constituency.

The Returning Officer of the election, Dr Habib Muhammad, announced the results on Saturday.

According to Muhammad, Musa scored 6,648 votes to defeat Yobe’s Speaker of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who got 6,466 votes.

ATTENTION: Click HERE to join our WhatsApp group and receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

Other candidates of ADC, NNPP, and APM secured 3,023 and 14 votes respectively.

Findings revealed that the Yobe’s Speaker has been in the house since 2003 when he was elected as House member under the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP).
If Mirwa had won, this would have been his sixth term in office, however, that dream has now been stopped by the 35-year-old Lawan Musa.

Leave a Reply

DTHA: Okowa’s Daughter, Marilyn Wins Ika North-East Constituency

26-Year-Old Rukayat Shittu Wins Kwara Assembly Seat