Aiyegbeni Named Among Everton’s Fastest Goal Scorers

Aiyegbeni Named Among Everton's Fastest Goal Scorers | Daily Report Nigeria

Former Super Eagles striker, Yakubu Aiyegbeni, has continued to make a mark beyond his active days at Everton after making it to the list of Top 10 fastest goals scored by the Toffees in the English Premier League.

Following Dwight McNeil’s goal after 35 seconds in their clash against Brentford last weekend, the club came out to released a video compilation of the Top 10 fastest goals in their history on YouTube, with Aiyegbeni coming in 10th position, as well as being the only Nigerian who played for the Toffees to have achieved that.

Aiyegbeni’s opener after 47 seconds in Everton’s 3-1 win over his former employers Portsmouth at Goodison park on March 2, 2008 was the goal that earned him the spot.

ATTENTION: Click HERE to join our WhatsApp group and receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

In Everton’s history in the Premier League, only nine players have managed to score quicker goals than the Super Eagles legend.

The fastest ever was recorded by John Ebbrell, who netted in the 23rd second against Wimbledon on January 1, 1996.

Completing the top 10 are Tom Davies, Romelu Lukaku, David Unsworth, Dwight Mcneil, Olivier Darcourt, Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Kevin Campbell and Nick Barmby.

Everton’s Goodison Park stadium has been a home away from home for Nigerian footballers, as the players etched their names in the history of the Merseyside club.

Super Eagles players, past and present, including Aiyegbeni, Joseph Yobo, Victor Anichebe, Daniel Amokachi, Ademola Lookman and Alex Iwobi have all scored for Everton in the Premier League.

URGENT: Apply For Fully Funded Scholarships in Europe