INC Constitutes Political Engagement Council

By Daily Report Nigeria
4 Min Read

The Ijaw National Congress, INC, has inaugurated a Political Engagement Council, PEC.

This was contained in a press release signed by the INC National Publicity Secretary, Engr. Ezonebi Oyakemeagbegha.

The PEC is saddled with the political advancement of Ijaw Nation, engagement of appropriate quarters towards attaining restructuring, among other issues.

The Council is chaired by the INC President, Prof. Benjamin Okaba, all members of the national Executive Committee and others.

- Advertisement -

Also, a 13-man subcommittee chaired by Atamuno Atamuno was constituted to spearhead the tackling of pressing issues in the Niger Delta region.

Pertinent issues to be pursued by the sub-committee include resources control, implementation of NDDC Act, proper funding of the Presidential Amnesty Program, among others.

The press release reads;

The President of the Ijaw National Congress Prof Benjamin Ogele Okaba has on behalf of the NEC and Congress of the Ijaw Ethnic Nationality, announced the Constitution of Political Engagement Council.


1. President of Congress (Chairman)

2. All NEC Members

3. Three (3) Nominees from each zone

4. One (1) nominee from each chapter

5. One (1) nominee from each recognized Ijaw Association

Terms of Reference:

1. To aggregate Ijaw National interest

2. To promote Ijaw National interest

3. To negotiate with Presidential candidates of the various political parties

4.To lobby Presidential candidates for a review of the allocations for Host communities

5.To lobby for the restructuring of Nigeria on the principal of true federalism

6. To lobby for creation of more Ijaw states

7. To lobby for any other interest of the Ijaw Nation as it may be.

In the same vein, the President further inaugurated 13-man contact sub-committee at the occasion of the Central Zone Town Hall/ Sensitization meeting held on the 24th of September 2022 at the Ijaw House Yenagoa, Bayelsa State.

The committee is made up of :

I. Atamuno Atamuno (Chairman)

II.Barr Alaowei B.C Bozimo

III. Chief Timi Alaibe

IV. Dr. Week Doodei

V. Chief (Arc) Amagbe D. Kentebe
VI. Chief P.Y Biakpara

VII. Pastor Ifie Bribena

VIII. Barr Mrs Bomo Fetepigi

IX. Annkio Briggs

X. Dr. (Mrs) Rose Oboforibo

XI. Barr. D.I Kekemeke

XII. Prince Ebitimi Amgbare

XIII. Sam Oruopa (Secretary)

Terms of Reference :

– To make contact with the relevant political leaders, Organizations/Political parties

– To report to the political engagement committee

2.0 Terms of engagement:

The following are issues of the Ijaw interest to be discussed with the Presidential candidates of the various political parties:

I. Restructuring of the governance structure of the Nigerian state

II.Resources control

III. To review the Petroleum industry act

IV. To address issues of environmental and Ecological destruction mated by fossil oil exploration activities, ocean surge and shoreline erosion

V. Creation of more states for the Ijaw Nation

VI.Implementation of the NDDC Act and constitute proper board of the NDDC

VII. Release of the statutory allocation due to the NDDC from inception to date

VIII. Proper funding of the presidential Amnesty Programme

Engr Ezonebi Oyakemeagbegha
National Publicity Secretary
Ijaw National Congress (INC)

Share this Article
1 Comment