Boundary Crisis: Aladja, Ogbe-Ijoh Sign Peace Pact

By Daily Report Nigeria
3 Min Read

The leadership of warring Delta communities, Aladja and Ogbe-Ijoh, have signed a peace and security accord.

The signing of the peace pact followed the wading in of the Commanding Officer 3 Battalion of the Nigerian Army in Effurun.

The leadership of both communities and stakeholders held a peace parley on Saturday, 17th September 2022, at the Government House Annex at Edjeba, in Warri metropolis.

- Advertisement -

Daily Report recalls that one person was shot dead in the recent dispute on Friday morning.

At the of Saturday’s peace meeting, representatives of the two communities saw the need to discard all grievances and agree to a truce that they obliged.

It was resolved that peace should be maintained henceforth by both communities.

- Advertisement -

“Henceforth, the two communities will no longer attack each other over disputed land.

“And that should any breach of peace occur, the persons found to be involved be dealt with squarely.

“Consequently, troops of Operation Delta Hawk will continue to dominate the area with patrols and show of force in conjunction with other security agencies to forestall any threats to the fragile peace”.

It peace pact was also signed by the Divisional Police Officers in charge of the two communities, CSP Aliyu Shaba and SP Kabiru Audu respectively.

Major decisions taken at the end of the meeting were;

“That the demarcation of the disputed boundary area between the two communities was to be suspended till further notice;

“That the Governor or a delegation from Delta State Government was to visit the disputed boundary area before recommencement of the demarcation exercise;

“That the leaders of the two feuding communities were to desist from threatening each other. Additionally, any leader or community member who was found culpable of breaching the truce was to be severely sanctioned in accordance with the law henceforth;

“That all arms and ammunition still being harboured in any of the communities were to be voluntarily submitted to the security agencies.”

The representatives who signed the peace pact of Aladja community were; Chief C.C.I. Whiliky, Comrade Shell Okakota Godfirst and Chief Ottoogbiru Vetah.

Those for Ogbe-Ijoh were Chief Anthony Jolomi, Hon. Denbota Oweikpodor and Chief Lucky Oromoni for Ogbe-Ijoh.

Also in attendance were the Chairman of Warri South West Local Government, representative of the Chairman Udu LGA, the Commissioner of Police, Delta State, Special Adviser to the State Governor on Peace and Conflict Resolution, the Police Area Commander Burutu, Divisional Police Officers of Ogbe-Ijoh and Ovwian Police Stations as well as representatives of the Commanding Officer, 3 Battalion (Rear) Effurun.

READ ALSO: Explosion Rocks Taraba

Share this Article
Leave a comment