FG Inaugurates Committee for 2024 Democracy Day Celebration

On Wednesday, the federal government inaugurated a 17-member inter-ministerial committee in Abuja for the year’s Democracy Day Celebration.

The committee’s main responsibility was to organize the 2024 Democracy Day celebration and ensure a memorable and fitting anniversary for Democracy Day.

The Director of Information and Public Relations at the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Segun Imohiosen, issued a statement confirming the committee’s formation.

During the inauguration, the SGF, Sen George Akume, explained the significance of commemorating Democracy Day.

ATTENTION: Click HERE to join our WhatsApp group and receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

Akume highlighted that the occasion provides an opportunity to reflect on the contributions and sacrifices of national heroes and heroines who played pivotal roles in establishing democratic governance in Nigeria.

Furthermore, he explained that the annual Democracy Day celebration serves as a platform to showcase the nation’s achievements in addressing various social and economic challenges.

The proposed activities for the 2024 Democracy Day celebration include a World Press Briefing scheduled for Thursday, June 6; a Juma’at Service to be held on Friday, June 7; a Church Service to take place on Sunday, June 9; a Symposium/Public Lecture to meet on Monday, June 10; and a Presidential Broadcast and Parade planned for Wednesday, June 12.

The committee, chaired by Mr. Akume, comprises several ministers, including Mohammed Idris Malagi, Minister of Information and National Orientation; Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo, Minister of Interior; and Wale Edun, Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy.

Other members include Sen Abubakar Bagudu, Minister of Budget and Economic Planning; Yusuf Tuggar, Minister of Foreign Affairs; and Nyesom Wike, Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The committee also includes special advisers to the president, such as Hadiza Bala-Usman (Policy and Coordination) and Bayo Onanuga (Information and Strategy), as well as the Inspector-General of Police, Kayode Egbetokun, and other sub-committees.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Gov Usman Ododo Whisks Away Yahaya Bello from Abuja Residence

Nigerians Drink Beer Worth N599.11 Billion in 6 Months— Records

Nigerian Breweries to Close 2 Manufacturing Plants Amid Economic Challenges